Home | deutsch  | Impressum | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

About the Institute of Managment

The institute focuses on management issues in three research groups: Human Resource Management, Management Accounting and Strategic Management. Analysis of strategic decisions, financial management information, as well as incentive and motivational mechanisms are core topics.

We have an international network, draw on approaches that are based on theory as well as empirical data, and develop frameworks for guiding management practice. We use mixed methods ranging from game theoretical analysis, empirical studies based on company data and surveys, to behavioral economic experiments. Through close cooperation with companies, our research results are regularly applied in practice.

Our teaching is research-based and combines knowledge of established scientific methods with knowledge that is oriented toward practical applications. Participatory elements such as online polls, case studies and guest lectures by practitioners are an integral part of the education at the institute.

 

Research groups

Human Resource Management (Prof. Dr. Petra Nieken)

Management Accounting (Prof. Dr. Marc Wouters)

Strategic Management (Prof. Dr. Hagen Lindstädt)

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Institutsprofil IBU

Im Zentrum der Institutsarbeit stehen Management-Fragestellungen, die wir in den drei Forschergruppen Human Resource Management, Management Accounting und Unternehmensführung betrachten. Die Analyse von strategischen Entscheidungen, finanziellen Managementinformation sowie Anreiz- und Motivationsmechanismen bilden den Kern unserer Arbeit.

Wir pflegen ein internationales Netzwerk, nutzen theoriegeleitete und datenbasierte Ansätze, und entwickeln handlungsleitende Analyserahmen. Dabei verwenden wir einen Methodenmix aus spieltheoretischen Analysen, empirischen Studien auf Basis von Unternehmensdaten und Umfragen sowie verhaltensökonomischen Experimenten. Durch unsere enge Kooperation mit Unternehmen finden unsere Forschungsergebnisse regelmäßig Anwendung in der Praxis.

Unsere Lehre ist forschungsorientiert und vereint fundiertes wissenschaftliches Methodenwissen mit anwendungsorientiertem Praxiswissen. Partizipative Elemente wie Onlineabstimmungen und Case Studies sowie Besuche von Praktikern sind integraler Bestandteil der Ausbildung am Institut.

 

Forschergruppen

Human Resource Management (Prof. Dr. Petra Nieken)

Management Accounting (Prof. Dr. Marc Wouters)

Unternehmensführung (Prof. Dr. Hagen Lindstädt)